In this section

Participating Organisations

International Astronautical Federation

The International Astronautical Federation


Founded in 1951 to foster dialogue between scientists around the world and support international cooperation in all space-related activities, the IAF continues to connect space people worldwide.

The Federation is the world’s leading space advocacy body with over 327 members, including all key space agencies, companies, societies, associations and institutes across 66 countries.

Australian members

  • Australian National University
  • Commonwealth Department of Industry and Science
  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Engineers Australia
  • Flinders University
  • RMIT
  • Shoal Pty Ltd
  • Space Industry Association of Australia (SIAA)
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of South Australia
  • Victorian Space Science Education Centre
Institute of Space Law

The International Institute of Space Law 

Space law is an area of the law that encompasses national and international law governing activities in outer space.

The International Institute of Space Law (IISL) was founded in 1960. The purposes and objectives of the Institute include the cooperation with appropriate international organisations and national institutions in the field of space law and the carrying out of tasks for fostering space law development.

International Academy of Astronautics

The International Academy of Astronautics

The International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) was founded in Stockholm on August 16, 1960. Since that time, IAA has brought together the world's foremost experts in the disciplines of astronautics on a regular basis to recognize the accomplishments of their peers, to explore and discuss cutting-edge issues in space research and technology, and to provide direction and guidance in the non-military uses of space and the ongoing exploration of the solar system.

Space Generation Advisory

The Space Generation Advisory Council

SGAC works on the international, national and local level to link together university students and young professionals to think creatively about international space policy issues and inject the new generation point of view into international space policy creation.

The University of Adelaide

University of Adelaide

The Space Industry Association of Australia and the Local Organising Committee for IAC2017 congratulate the University of Adelaide for applying to join the IAF.  The University will be the thirteenth member orgaisation of the IAF from Australia. 

The University holds a proud place in Australia’s space history.  Substantial elements of Australlia’s first satellite, the Weapons Research Establishment Satellite (WRESAT), were designed and built at the University.  WRESAT was launched in November 1967 from Woomera, making Australia the fourth nation to fabricate and launch a satellite from its own territory (ahead of us were the USSR, the USA and France).  The University is also the alma mater of Dr Andy Thomas, one of only two people born in Australia to travel to space.  Currently, engineering students are constructing a cubesat. The Law School is running courses in Space Law and is a founding partner in an international research effort looking at the legal framework for military uses of space and the the physics department continues a long tradition of research into the ionosphere and near space environment.

See: for further information.

Navigation at a glance

Event Information

Location and Tour Information

Subscribe to receive our eNews

© All Rights Reserved | Sitemap | Website by PDQ Design